Welcome to Home Recording Forum For Beginners. You must make your first post in the Introductions Forum after you Register! In till you do, you WILL NOT be able to post or reply in any other forum. After you make your introduction the entire board will be available for posting or replying. This is a countermeasure for spam bots.

Plugins Needed for Audacity Concerning the ACX.

Audacity® is free, open source, cross-platform audio software for multi-track recording and editing. Audacity is not considered a DAW. The biggest concern I have with this program is that it can not use the ASIO file. This means that you must go through your operating systems sound card to record your audio. At this time I still can not achieve multi-track recording with this software.
User avatar
Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:39 am
Location: Virginia
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.
Digital Recorder: Tascam DR-40, Zoom H6.
Contact:
United States of America

Plugins Needed for Audacity Concerning the ACX.

Post: # 152Post Dana
Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:10 am

Plugins Needed for Audacity Concerning the ACX.
You will need to download and install the following files to build your ACX FX chain. You must have version 2.3.1 or newer to use the following plugins. It is really easy to do. The first file is the ACX check. This will tell you if your finished audio file will pass the ACX requirements. It should be noted that this does not guarantee you will pass, it is only a guideline and tells you if your are close. The second file is the rms-normalize. Just as the file name states, it is for normalizing your audio concerning the rms loudness scale. (Root Mean Squared). Once you download and install these files in the plugin folder within audacity, you can now build your ACX FX Chain. You can check out the video below to see how easy it is to build this type of FX chain.
https://youtu.be/3EAm0uhRg14 1. ACX Check.

2. rms-normalize.



Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

thestorygirl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Michigan
Operating System: Windows 7
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Audacity :(
Mics: Blue Yeti :(
United States of America

Post: # 153Post thestorygirl
Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:25 pm

Hi, Dana,
OK, I was dinkying around with it this afternoon, and although I put the links in my Nyquist folder, I'm not seeing them when I go to the Edit>Insert on Audacity to build it. This might be because my computer would not let me save them directly to Nyquist folder initially. I had to save them elsewhere and then click and drag them to put in there. ?? So, when I go to Insert, I see Normalize, but not the RMS Normalize, and not ACX check. Did I do something wrong?

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:39 am
Location: Virginia
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.
Digital Recorder: Tascam DR-40, Zoom H6.
Contact:
United States of America

Post: # 154Post Dana
Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:30 pm

Any time you add a plugin to audacity, you must enable it. Go to Effects, Add/Remove Plug-ins.... (The very first option), Select the plugin and check enable. Click OK. poke And you call yourself an Airline Pilot.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

thestorygirl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Michigan
Operating System: Windows 7
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Audacity :(
Mics: Blue Yeti :(
United States of America

Post: # 155Post thestorygirl
Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:21 pm

He he! Or First Class Space Cadet! abduct

Thanks! It worked out fine!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:39 am
Location: Virginia
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.
Digital Recorder: Tascam DR-40, Zoom H6.
Contact:
United States of America

Post: # 156Post Dana
Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:51 am

thestorygirl wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:21 pm
He he! Or First Class Space Cadet! abduct

Thanks! It worked out fine!
The reason I knew how to do it, was because I had the same problem the first time I tried to add a plugin. ;)

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

thestorygirl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Michigan
Operating System: Windows 7
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Audacity :(
Mics: Blue Yeti :(
United States of America

Post: # 160Post thestorygirl
Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:57 pm

Hi, Dana, I hope you are having a great summer!
I was applying the ACX chain to a new short story I was doing for Librivox, but I come up with two problems.
1) The original recording waves look decent and uniform. But as the chain goes through it's automatic process, it clips it all across the board, then the waves get smaller, but the waves are still clipped off.
2) The short story I was applying the chain to is 44 min. long, and a box came up at the end of the process that said "Section too long for analysis".

Do you have any advice?
Thanks!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:39 am
Location: Virginia
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.
Digital Recorder: Tascam DR-40, Zoom H6.
Contact:
United States of America

Post: # 161Post Dana
Fri Jul 20, 2018 5:21 pm

It has been very busy for the last month or two. I hope you are having a great summer to. Your wave form will change during the process and the reason you are getting the error message at the end is due to the ACX plugin. It is meant to only check 3 or 4 mins of audio at a time. Try taking it out of your chain. Run the chain and then spot check your file using the ACX plugin only, highlighting only 4 or 5 mins at a time. This should fix the problem with the error message.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

thestorygirl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Michigan
Operating System: Windows 7
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Audacity :(
Mics: Blue Yeti :(
United States of America

Post: # 164Post thestorygirl
Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:09 pm

Okay, what is it I am supposed to take out of the chain?

Does the clipping matter?

Thanks, again!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 6:39 am
Location: Virginia
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.
Digital Recorder: Tascam DR-40, Zoom H6.
Contact:
United States of America

Post: # 165Post Dana
Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:14 am

thestorygirl wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:09 pm
Okay, what is it I am supposed to take out of the chain?
You need to remove the ACX Check plugin.
Does the clipping matter?

Thanks, again!
Clipping matters when you do your initial recording of your audio. It can also be a problem when your render/export your file. If you use the proper input levels, you will never have to worry about clipping. Check out the first post above and watch the video. This should give you the results you are trying to achieve.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

thestorygirl
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:20 pm
Location: Michigan
Operating System: Windows 7
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Audacity :(
Mics: Blue Yeti :(
United States of America

Post: # 166Post thestorygirl
Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:59 pm

Okay, I understand now about the spot checking. I took the ACX Check out.

But, hmmm... I must be doing something wrong somewhere. On average my Playback Levels show my voice hovers around 18, but then there are the excited spikes again. Should I lower gain even more?

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic