Welcome to Home Recording Forum For Beginners. You must make your first post in the Introductions Forum after you Register! In till you do, you WILL NOT be able to post or reply in any other forum. After you make your introduction the entire board will be available for posting or replying. This is a countermeasure for spam bots.

Introduction and help request

Please introduce yourself here. You do not have to write a book, just tell everyone what you want to accomplish concerning audio recording. I also recommend that you take the time to fill out your profile. This way if you have a question, we can simple go to your profile and find out what gear you may be using.

Moderators: thestorygirl, Liz

IanGevaux
Operating System: Windows 10
Great Britain

Introduction and help request

Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:23 am

Hello and pleased to be a member of these forums.
First off and essentially I'm a musician with limited computing knowledge.
I have purchased an entry level p.c. for home recording using Audacity as my DAW.
I have Line6 TonePort UX2 as my interface and Gearbox as interface software.
My issue is that gearbox is incompatible with windows 10 and, although it works to an extent, it's not ideal. Prone to crashing and glitching out at crucial moments!

What I would really appreciate is guidance on what free plugins to use instead of Gearbox and what settings to apply in them.

I need a vocal preamp I think too, unless there is free bundle software out there.

I have done countless searches but I am totally blinded by the science and jargon, and countless installs and confused on what settings to use.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated as I'm getting rather frustrated. I just want to record music.

Thanks all.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

Dana
Site Admin
Site Admin
Operating System: Windows 8 & 10.
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW): Reaper, Hindenburg, Audacity.
Mics: Shure SM7b, SM 57 & 58, ATR 2100, AKG P120, AT Pro 70.